In 1995, the Society established this award to recognize individuals who have made sustained and significant contributions to the Canadian mathematical community and, in particular, to the Canadian Mathematical Society. The award was renamed in 2008, in recognition of Graham Wright’s 30 years of service to the Society as the Executive Director and Secretary.

CMS aims to promote and celebrate diversity in the broadest sense. We strongly encourage department chairs and nominating committees to put forward nominations for outstanding colleagues regardless of race, gender, ethnicity or sexual orientation.

Nominations should include a reasonably detailed rationale including three support letters and be submitted by March 31, 2021.

All documentation should be submitted electronically, preferably in PDF format, by the appropriate deadline, to


Individuals who made a nomination last year can renew this nomination by simply indicating their wish to do so by the deadline date. In this case, only updating materials need be provided as the original has been retained.

2020 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service Recipient

Claude Levesque
Laval University (retired)

Prof. Levesque is the most recent recipient of the award.  Please read the Media Release.  For a list of past recipients and to read their citations, please visit the official Graham Wright Award page.